Home / General / Nairobi MCAs pass BBI bill

Nairobi MCAs pass BBI bill

Nairobi MCAs on Thursday passed the Constitution of Kenya (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

A total of 114 MCAs voted to pass the bill during the plenary session chaired by Benson Mutura.

One hundred and nine MCAs were present at the chambers, while five voted online.

The assembly was a full house with several politicians at the assembly to witness the debate.

They included Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja, nominated MP Maina Kamanda, Embakasi East MP Babu Owino and former Gender CAS Rachel Shebesh.

A moment of silence was observed in honour of former Wajir Senator Yusuf Haji, who died on Monday.

Eleven counties have passed the BBI Bill, while one has rejected it.

Other counties that have passed the Bill are Vihiga, Laikipia, Kisii, Siaya, Kisumu, Kajiado, West Pokot, Busia, Trans Nzoia and Homa Bay.

So far, only Baringo County has rejected the Bill.

Twenty-four out of 47 counties are required to pass the Bill

Facebook Comments
(Visited 18 times, 1 visits today)

About Joel Otindo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *